Episodes

Episode No. 15: Gilman Whiting, Vanderbilt Professor/Scholar Identity Institute Founder

My guest here is Gilman Whiting, the creator of the Scholar Identity Model and Scholar Identity Institute out of the Peabody College of Education at Vanderbilt University.

If you’d like to learn more about the Scholar Identity Institute:

I initially taped this interview for my day job; I’m putting a condensed version up over here to get it out sooner. As I say at the beginning of this podcast — although I had a nasty cold, so perhaps it’s hard to understand me — the interview was 54 minutes long. It was a really interesting, elaborate discussion on education, race and race politics; here, I cut it down, but later in January, the full audio will be up on the web (either here or at the LM site linked above).

Doing this podcast gave me a new idea for 2012: education and other social issues roundtables. Five people from different walks of life all discussing a big issue. We tape it and post it. It could be awesome. Here’s hoping.

As always, you can subscribe to this podAs always, you can subscribe to this podcast at this link, and if you’re into Twitter, you can follow us @DaysWorkPodcast. (Side note: I may have referred to this as Episode No. 16 at some point in the audio. Ignore that. It was the cold meds talking.)

See you back here after MLK Day with a new episode.

Discussion

One thought on “Episode No. 15: Gilman Whiting, Vanderbilt Professor/Scholar Identity Institute Founder

  1. I was a member of this Institute. I am now in my sophomore year at Tennessee State studying Civil Engineering in the hopes of one being accepted into the engineering grad school at Vanderbilt

    Posted by David Sanders | March 14, 2012, 5:22 pm

Leave a comment

What’s This All About?

This is a blog and podcast series about the work we all do: the highs, the lows, the effectiveness, the intrigue, the models, the double speak, and the passion. The point is to have discussions with people in those fields about their life and experiences. And hey, sometimes the stories might be funny, too. In the spring of 2013, the new posts started to fade, but you can find them all on iTunes.

Want to be a part of our community? Let\'s roll.

Who We’ve Interviewed